WAF World Building of the Year 2018 shortlist announced

29 June 2018

Heatherwick Studio’s grain silo art gallery, Zeitz MOCAA,  Zaha Hadid Architects’ Riyadh research centre and Kieran Timberlake’s US Embassy have all been shortlisted for awards at this year’s World Architecture Festival. World Architecture Festival (WAF) is an annual celebration of global architecture that sees practices around the world compete for the title of World Building of the Year.

The WAF 2018 shortlist includes a house perched on the edge of a peninsula near São Paulo, a mosque without a minaret in Iran, and a moulded concrete cinema in GalwayDorte Mandrup’s coastal visitor centre is also on the shortlist, along with Plano Humano Arquitectos’ Portuguese chapel  and Kimmel Eshkalot Architects spiralling memorial building.

For the first time in its 11-year history WAF will be held in Amsterdam, having been hosted in Barcelona, Singapore and Berlin previously. There are 536 architectural works on the shortlist, divided into categories depending on their purpose and whether they are completed or a future project.

WAF will be held 28-30 November, when the winners from each category will be announced. Category winners will then compete to be crowned World Building of the Year, or if they are still at the conceptual stage, Future Project of the Year.

Related articles

Read the latest issue

Latest Issue