16 October 2019

Entry into the 2020 SAIAT – CemteQ
Awards for Inclusive Architecture has officially opened. The opportunity to
showcase South African projects and innovation is available to all registered
Architectural Professionals including SAIAT registered Architectural
Professionals and Architectural Students. 
Entries close on 30 March 2020
and the awards will be presented at a gala event in Cape Town in May 2020.

Sponsored by CemteQ, the aim of the
awards programme is to recognise inclusive architectural excellence and thereby
stimulate an overall improvement within the built environment which, in turn,
leads to improved living and working environments.

An inclusive environment recognises and
accommodates differences in the way people use the built environment.  It facilitates dignified, equal and intuitive
use by everyone.  It does not physically
or socially separate, discriminate or isolate. 
It readily accommodates and welcomes diverse user requirements – from
childhood to adulthood through to old age, across all abilities and embracing
every background, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, religion or belief and
culture (i.e. protected characteristics). 
It helps people to live independently and participate fully in all
aspects of life.

The South African Institute of
Architectural Technologists provides a professional platform for qualified and
accredited professional architectural practitioners focusing on the practice of
architectural technology.

CemteQ specialises in developing,
manufacturing and distributing valueadding, sustainable cementitious products
and systems that are lightweight and offer significant thermal insulation,
fire-resistance and acoustic advantages over conventional building materials.

The 2020 SAIAT – CemteQ Awards
organising committee calls all registered architectural professionals and
architectural students to enter their best projects in this year’s
competition.  Eligibility criteria for
the awards categories are outlined in the brief on the SAIAT website.

Submit any enquiries to Petrus Muller,
2020 SAIAT – CemteQ Awards CoOrdinator via e-mail at [email protected].  T

he awards Brief document and
registration form is available on the official awards website

Read the latest issue

Latest Issue